

Introduction

ANDREW POPP

Time flies and this issue brings to a close the eighteenth volume of *Enterprise and Society*. Now nearing the end of the third year of my term as Editor-in-Chief, it is a pleasure to find the role just as invigorating and stimulating as I did when I began. I hope our readers agree that the effort is worthwhile.

As is customary, our December issue carries the Business History Conference (BHC) presidential address. This year Walter Friedman, of Harvard Business School, presents an authoritative overview of the development of the field in an article entitled "Recent Trends in Business History Research: Capitalism, Democracy, and Innovation." As is also customary, this issue carries summaries of the dissertations shortlisted for the Krooss Prize. This year's finalists were Gerardo Con Diaz, Justene Hill, and Shaun Nichols. Once more, we cannot fail to be impressed by the quality of the work undertaken by these emerging scholars. We wish them well for the future and look forward to watching their development. The 2017 Krooss Prize was won by Gerardo Con Diaz for his thesis, entitled "Intangible Inventions: A History of Software Patenting in the United States, 1945–1985."

At the same time, we are pleased to be able present a range of fascinating research articles. Jon Stobart invites us to enter those "cathedrals of consumption": England's provincial department stores of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Patricio Sáiz and Rafael Castro explore the entangled histories of intellectual property rights and Foreign Direct History in Spain, before Daniel Robert takes us back across the Atlantic to consider how U.S. corporations attempted to leverage customer stock ownership as a political strategy. Karolina Hutkova takes on technology transfers between Europe and India in the context of the East India Company and the Bengal silk industry. Finally, Chenxiao Xia explores the politics of electrifying Kyoto. Thus, in this single issue, we see the truly global reach of business history today.

doi:10.1017/eso.2017.47

Andrew Popp can be reached at Andrew.Popp@liverpool.ac.uk

I want to end by thanking all those that make the work we do at the journal possible: the Editorial Board; our Associate Editor Shane Hamilton (University of York), Per Hansen (Copenhagen Business School), and Sharon Murphy (Providence College); all those involved at Cambridge University Press, especially Diane Davis; and last but very definitely not least, Carol Lockman at Hagley. Finally, we must thank our referees. Without their diligence, application, and insight, our work would be impossible. *Enterprise and Society* is lucky to be served by such an outstanding roster of scholars. Those assisting $E \mathcal{E} S$ between September 2016 and August 2017 included:

Michael Aldous Michael Heller Andrew Alexander Eric Hilt Edward Balleisen Richard Hirsh Bernardo Batiz-Lazo Martin Iversen John, Richard Patrizia Battilani Hartmut Berghoff Jones, Charles Nicola Bianchi Kikkawa, Takeo **Jordan Landes** Sean Bottomley Carlo Brambilla Joseph Lane Angus Burgin Knut Laser Alan Campbell **Josh Lauer** Christy Chapin Matt Lavine Marc Levinson David Clampin Jonathan Levy Roberto Davini

Joshua Davis Christopher McKenna

David Merrett Iennifer Delton Stephen Mihm Ellen Denker Paolo DiMartino Rory Miller Pierre-Yves Donzé Ian Mitchell Ellen Mølgaard Roy Edwards Espen Ekberg Simon Mollan Ernie Englander Simon Mowatt Marc Flandreau Larry Neal

William Foster Alessandro Nuvolari
Billy Frank Rowena Olegario
Raul Garcia-Heras Kim Oosterlinck
Shennette Garrett-Scott Robin Pearson
Pal Germuska Andrew Perchard
Pablo Gutierrez Gonzalez Lawrence Peskin

Sheryllynne Haggerty
Gelina Harlaftis
William Hausman
Lars Heide
Sarah Quinn
Paul Renfro
Mary Rose
Christine Rosen

Janette Rutterford
Harm Schröter
Martin Shanahan
Andrew Smith
Ellen Spears
James Taylor
Stig Tenold
Francesca Trivellato
Pierre van der Eng
Maartje van Gelder

Sean Vanatta

Michelangelo Vasta
Grietjie Verhoef
Simon Ville
Benjamin Waterhouse
Nicholas White
Mark Wilson
Wendy Woloson
Jeffrey Womack
Shakila Yacob
Andreas Zangger