Preface

This volume contains the collection of contributed papers to the Philosophy of Science Association Meeting in Montreal, November 4–6, 2010, selected for publication. Two hundred fifty-eight papers were submitted for consideration for PSA 2010; 96 of those were selected for presentation at the conference, and 46 of those were selected for publication in this volume. The huge amount of work required to referee all these submissions was carried out by the PSA 2010 Program Committee: Craig Callender, David Danks, Heather Douglas, Marc Ereshefsky, Branden Fitelson, Roman Frigg, Nicholas Huggett, James Joyce, Ron Mallon, Wayne Myrvold, Samir Okasha, Julian Reiss, Margaret Schabas, Robert Skipper, David Stump, Martin Thomson-Jones, and J. D. Trout. The committee did a tremendous job, and I cannot thank them enough.

Throughout the process, I relied on Gary Hardcastle, PSA secretary, for help and support, and he was generous with both; thanks Gary. Jeff Barrett and Tucker Lentz at *Philosophy of Science* set me up on their Editorial Manager system and provided me with invaluable advice and support throughout; thank you both. The hard work on the production of this volume was also carried out at the offices of *Philosophy of Science*, and I thank Jim Weatherall for all his efforts on this phase of the project. I also want to thank previous program chairs, Alan Richardson and Miriam Solomon, for useful input along the way.

The PSA Governing Board provided financial assistance for the process, which I used for partial support of two University of Utah graduate students: David Drake, who helped during the refereeing phase, and Matthew Mosdell, who helped during the editing phase of this volume. I want to thank past President Nancy Cartwright and the Governing Board for giving me the opportunity to put together the conference and this volume. Finally, I want to thank the contributors for submitting the excellent papers in a broad range of areas of philosophy of science that make up this volume.

Stephen M. Downes PSA 2010 Program Committee Chair University of Utah