New 2007-2008 APSA Officers Elected

ianne Pinderhughes, the President's Distinguished Professor and Full Professor in the Departments of Africana Studies and Political Science at Notre Dame University, became the Association's 104th president on September 2 at the close of the Association's Annual Meeting. Robert Axelrod of the University of Michigan, APSA's outgoing president, symbolically passed the gavel to Pinderhughes at the Association's Business Meeting on September 1. Joining Pinderhughes in guiding the Association are six new officers. Eight new members of the council will be elected in an all-member election during the month of October. Details on the results of the election will be available on the web and in the January issue of PS.

Before Notre Dame, Pinderhughes taught at Dartmouth College, and the University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign. Her teaching focuses on racial and ethnic politics in the U.S., voting rights policy and American urban politics. Pinderhughes' research addresses issues of inequality with a focus on racial and ethnic politics and public policy, explores the creation of American civil society institutions in the twentieth century, and analyzes their influence on the formation of voting rights policy. Her publications include the book, Race and Ethnicity in Chicago Politics a Reexamination of Pluralist *Theory.* Pinderhughes also examines the intersection of race and gender in



President Dianne Pinderhughes receives the gavel from outgoing President Robert Axelrod.

American electoral representation in a current study, the *Gender and Multicultural Leadership Project*

President Pinderhughes' service to the APSA include her positions held as a member of the Council, as vice president, and as a member of the Task Force on Inequality and American Democracy. She was co-president of the Race, Ethnicity, and Politics Organized Section and serves as president of the Urban Politics Organized Section.

A full intellectual biography of President Pinderhughes will appear in the January issue of *PS*.

Assuming the position of presidentelect is Peter J. Katzenstein, the Walter S. Carpenter, Jr. Professor of International Studies at Cornell University. In 2005, he was made one of Cornell University's Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellows, in recognition of sustained and distinguished undergraduate teaching.

His APSA responsibilities include serving as secretary of the Association, as a member of the International Committee, co-chairing, with Mary Fainsod Katzenstein, the 1995 Annual Meeting and Program Committee, and serving on various APSA award committees. Katzenstein is the recipient of the 1974 Helen Dwight Reid Award of the APSA for the best dissertation in international relations, of APSA's 1986 Woodrow Wilson prize for the best book published in the United States on interna-

tional affairs, and, together with Nobuo Okawara, of the 1993 Masayoshi Ohira Memorial Prize.

Other 2007–2008 officers include:

Vice Presidents: Valerie Martinez-Ebers, Texas Christian University, Susan C. Stokes, Yale University, Dennis F. Thompson, Harvard University

Treasurer: Janet Box-Steffensmeier, Ohio State University

Secretary: Cathy J. Cohen, University of Chicago

Change in APSA's Journal Manuscript Submission System

The APSA journals, *American Political Science Review*, *PS: Political Science & Politics*, and *Perspectives on Politics*, began using the web-based editorial management system Editorial Manager in July 2007 to accept new manuscripts; invite and receive peer reviews; and edit and manage the journals. Authors should use Editorial Manager to submit new manuscripts to APSA journals; they can be accessed at www.editorialmanager.com/apsr, www.editorialmanager.com/ps, and www.editorialmanager.com/pop. Reviewers will be invited via email to review and will be directed to Editorial Manager to express their their willingness to review and to access manuscripts.

824 *PS* October 2007