## Introduction

## ANDREW POPP

Another year, our seventeenth, draws to a close at *Enterprise & Society*. I hope you have enjoyed reading this year's volume as much as I have enjoyed helping to put it together.

Traditionally, our December issue carries the Business History Conference (BHC) presidential address. For reasons beyond everyone's control, Margaret Graham's (McGill) stimulating address on the topic of "When the Corporation Almost Displaced the Entrepreneur" will appear in the first issue of the 2017 volume. However, this issue, as is also traditional, does carry summaries of the dissertations short-listed for the Krooss Prize. This year's finalists were Michael Aldous, Jessica Burch, Anne Fleming, and Lindsay Schakenbach Regele. As ever, the work of these promising young scholars reminds us that business history is in rude health, and that diversity, innovativeness, and rigor remain defining hallmarks of the discipline. I am sure that we have much fascinating work to look forward to from this year's four finalists. In 2016 the Krooss Prize was won by Anne Fleming for her dissertation, "City of Debtors: Law, Loan Sharks, and the Shadow Economy of Urban Poverty, 1900–1970."

Along with the dissertation summaries, this issue hosts a series of research articles. I feel confident that these articles exemplify the reach and ambition of both business history as a field and of *Enterprise & Society* as a journal. With Lee Vinsel we dive into the role of government in setting standards in the automobile industry, and Sebastian Teupe tells a fascinating tale of some of the contrasting ways in which to sell televisions. Thereafter, we travel with Julie Bower to the United Kingdom to sample aspects of the brewing industry, before crossing the North Sea to explore state-owned industries in Norway with Einar Lie. This issue also sees the appearance of major intervention from two of the field's most important scholars, Lou Galambos and Franco Amatori. I feel sure that their provocative and wide-ranging article, "The Entrepreneurial Multiplier Effect," is going to act as stimulus to debate for a long time to come. To get that process started, I have commissioned two comments on the article from David Sicilia

doi:10.1017/eso.2016.68

<sup>@</sup> The Author 2016. Published by Cambridge University Press on behalf of the Business History Conference.

and Dan Wadhwani. Those comments, along with a response from Professors Galambos and Amatori, will appear in a forthcoming issue.

I want to end by thanking all those that make this work possible: Book Reviews Editor Richard Weiner and his assistant Jessica Cortesi; the Editorial Board, our Associate Editors—Shane Hamilton (University of York), Per Hansen, (Copenhagen Business School), and Sharon Murphy (Providence College)—all those involved at Cambridge University Press, especially Diane Davis, and last but very definitely not least, Carol Lockman. However, the last word of thanks must go to our referees. I cannot better what I said last year: our work would simply be impossible without their diligence, application, and insight. A list of those assisting *Enterprise & Society* between September 2015 and August 2016 follows immediately.

Neveen Abdelrehim Graeme Acheson Michael Aldous Andrew Alexander Sunil Amrith Scott Anthony Joseph Arena Bruce Baker Gerben Bakker Bernardo Batiz-Lazo Patrizia Battilani Stefano Battiliossi Steven Behrendt Elissa Bellotti Marco Bertilorenzi Fahad Bishara Barbara Black Julie Bower Rachel Bowlby Florence Brachet-Champsaur Linzi Brekke-Aloise Christopher Breward **Oskar** Broberg **Emily Buchnea** Angus Burgin Louis Cain Alan Campbell

Gerald Markowitz Cathy Matson Chris McKenna Ranald Michie Peter Miskell Ian Mitchell Simon Mollan Massimo Moraglio Joe Moran Mads Mordhorst Julio Moreno Stephen Morgan Simon Mowatt John Murray Laurence Mussio Alistair Mutch Andrew Nash Lucy Newton Tom Nicholas Jerker Nilsson Jari Ojala Rowena Olegario Tore Olsson Kim Oosterlinck José María Ortiz-Villajos Mary O'Sullivan Julia Ott

719

Leonardo Caruana de las Cagigas Catherine Casson Mar Cebrian Peter Coclanis Asli Colpan Gillian Cookson Jonathan Coopersmith James Cortada Robert Crawford Andrew Creed Roberto Davini Stephanie Decker Brian DeLay **Pierre Desrochers Gregory Domber** Roy Edwards Laura Ekholm **Bartow Elmore** Christopher Endy Martin Eriksson Kjetil Fallan Hannah Farber Elizabeth Fines-Wolf Ken Fines-Wolf Marc Flandreau Patrick Fridenson Larry Frohman Shennette Garrett-Scott Renato Giannetti Eric Godelier Andrew Godley Terry Gourvish Margaret Graham David Gramit Darren Grem Sheryllynne Haggerty Barbara Hahn Andrew Haley Kristin Hall Shane Hamilton David Hanlon Leslie Hannah Colin Haslam

Alastair Owens **Robin** Pearson Andrew Perchard Lawrence Peskin Kimberly Phillips-Fine Veronique Pouillard Stephen Procter Malcolm Purinton John Quail Mary Quek Sarah Quinn Viviane Quirke Ruggero Ranieri Bernhard Rieger Laura Rischbieter Jonathan Robins Eve Rosenhaft Janette Rutterford **Thomas Schatz** Catherine Schenk **Ben Schwantes** Stefan Schwarzkopf Peter Scott Philip Scranton John Sedgwick Luciano Segreto Ellen Silbergeld Teresa da Silva Lopes David Singerman Philip Slaby Andrew Smith Knut Sogner Howard Stanger Alessandro Stanziani Marc Stern Gordon Stewart Ion Stobart Kara Swanson **Richard Sylla** James Taylor Kevin Tennent David Thomson Ulrike Thomson

720 POPP

William Hausman Michael Heller David Higgins Sean Holmes Vicki Howard Robert Hume Louis Hyman Caroline Jack Lisa Jacobson Drew Keeling Takeo Kikkawa Chris Kobrak Martin Kragh Koji Kubo Jordan Landes James Lapsley Knut Laser Jonathan Levy **Claire Lemercier** Miguel López-Morell Qing Lu Christina Lubinski Robert MacDougal Niall MacKenzie Mairi Maclean **Rachel Maines** Josephine Maltby

Pål Thonstad Sandvik Steve Toms Pier Angelo Toninelli Janice Traflet Gail Triner Sean Turnell John Turner Heidi Tworek Behlul Usdiken Steven Usselman Dmitri Van Den Bersselaar Michelangelo Vasta Aashish Velkar Lee Vinsel Dan Wadhwani Marc Weidenmier Nicholas White Nick Whitham Leslie Whitworth Jonathan Wild Christopher Wilk Dwayne Winseck John Wilson Mark Wilson Wendy Woloson Robert Wright Shakila Yacob Alexia Yates