

# MINUTES OF THE PSYCHOMETRIC SOCIETY BUSINESS MEETING, PYLE CENTER, UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN MADISON, WISCONSIN

Albert Maydeu-Olivares called the meeting to order at 3:00 P.M. Twenty-seven members of the Society were present.

Albert asked for a motion to approve the 2013 Business Meeting minutes that were published in the March, 2013 issue of Psychometrika. Mark Wilson made a motion to accept the minutes as presented. Brian Junker seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Luz Bay presented the report of the Membership Committee. She nominated 103 individuals for regular membership into the Society. A motion to accept these individuals for membership was passed.

Oiman Kwok Minjeong Jeon Jody Hoff Eva Enefjord Bryan Keller Heng Li Rongchun Zhu Thomas Goettsche Lynn Schofield Ji Seung Yang Cassandra Clough Matthew Winter Liu Haiyan Pamela Matheny Amy Frost Tzu Chun Kuo Yin Fu Wei Xu Allison Ames Yuyu Fan Jennifer Cooper Kimberly Shinault **Bjorn Andersson** Sangbeak Ye Rebecca Freund **Benjamin Shear** Wendy Smith

Barth Riley William Samuels Hugo Blasdel Lele Khorramdel Keith Wright Kevin Kupzyk Amy Storfer-Isser Jacob Bishop Joseph Betts Elizabeth Williamson Can Shao **Deborah** Linares Nicole Kaminski Leanne Williamson Han Lee Jinah Choi Sunil Lamsal David King Carlos Valazquez Jason Zellmer C. Opariuc-Dan Yinghao Sun Daphna Harel Shenghai Dai Lizbeth Benson Andrew Hermann Wang Ze

June Twomey Sharon Sawyer Fei Gu Eunyoung Lim Gongjun Xu James Penny Eiliana Rojas Dhawn Mason David Irribarra Kevin Santos Mark Lachowicz Luciana Cancado Leo DeBroeck Brenden Bishop Kelli Samonte Jens Wiechers Youn Seon Lim Ashley Lawrence Alice Brawley J. Mason Chelsea Muth Wes Bonifay Xin Xin Deborah Borlam Luan Eng Ng Bryant Hutson Jasmine Morrow

#### PSYCHOMETRIKA

Likun Hou	Soo Youn Lee
Jeanuh We	Derya Cakici
Ellen Hamaker	Ting Wang
Michelle Barrett	Eunhee Keum
Yong Luo	Eda Demirduzen
Junhao Pan	Mengyao Zhang
Taehoon Kang	Meereem Kim
Yunxiao Chen	Kaylee Litson

Jared Harpole Qian Cao Melanie Gallo Nicole Pashley Alexandra Wesnousky Geen Tomko

Luz gave the Treasurer's report. She noted that the Society's finances have increased over the last couple of years. She reported that the starting cash on hand as of January 1, 2013 was \$515,337.71. As of June 30, 2014 we had \$99,311.57 in total income and \$58,071.20 in total disbursements and thus our current cash on hand is \$556,578.08.

#### **Editorial Council Report**

Albert Maydeu-Olivares provided an update on the Executive Editor search, which has occurred with the untimely death of Roger Millsap. He thanked Brian Junker for assuming the role of interim editor. Submission deadline for candidates is August 8. The Editorial Council will provide a recommendation for editor to the Board of Trustees. Start date is optimally no later than January 1, 2015.

Albert Maydeu-Olivares will be stepping down as ARCS editor after the new editor is in place. He asked any individuals who are interested in this position to contact him. Brian Junker presented an interim editor report. He thanked Judy Pierren and the associate editors for assisting with the transition. Brian reported there are currently about four issues of articles accepted, but not yet published. Currently, an article spends about 130 days in editorial review. The overall acceptance rate has been very high over the past year, about 46%. Editorial Council has a target of 36% acceptance rate. In order to eliminate the backlog, there will be additional pages added to the journal.

Andries van der Ark discussed the proceedings publication for 2013 IMPS. There is a slight delay in the production of the proceedings, which will be published the end of 2014. Jeff Douglas will be added as a new 2014 Proceedings co-editor. At registration for IMPS 2014, submitters indicated interest in submitting a chapter. The response was overwhelming, and there may be a restriction of accepted chapters. The proposed publication date is shortly before the Beijing meeting.

#### **Board of Trustees Report**

Sophia Rabe-Hesketh introduced three new board members: Cees Glas, who assumed Sophia's uncompleted term, and Anders Skrondal and Andries van der Ark, the newly elected board members. She introduced the new Early Career Award, which will be given in 2015 and invited members to submit nominations. Sophia reported that the Board of Trustees now holds regular teleconference meetings, and an in-person meeting mid-year. The new committees introduced last year are functioning well, and members of the society are invited to join them. Albert Maydeu-Olivares presented plaques to the outgoing board members, Irini Moustaki and Alina von Davier.

#### **Election of the Secretary and Treasurer**

Albert Maydeu-Olivares introduced the nominee for Secretary, Luz Bay. Dan Bolt was nominated for Treasurer (3 years). A motion was made and seconded to approve Luz as Secretary and Dan as Treasurer. Motion carried. It was noted that the next term of Secretary will be for 2 years. The purpose of this is to avoid the terms of both the secretary and treasurer ending the same year. Following Luz's 2 year term, the secretary position will then assume its regular 3 year term.

566

### TERRY ACKERMAN

## **IMPS 2014**

Dan Bolt provided an update on IMPS 2014. 380 individuals have registered for conference and workshops, representing 26 different countries. One hundred and four people attended the workshops, with 16 people registering for the workshops only. It was noted also that in an effort to balance the speakers, 50% of the Invited Speakers and State of the Art presenters were women.

## **IMPS 2015**

Sophia Rabe-Hesketh provided a report on the 2015 meeting at Beijing Normal University, Beijing, China, July 12–17, 2015. She encouraged everyone to continue to visit the website for updated information. Currently the information on travel to Beijing and visa requirements is posted.

## **Future Meetings**

Albert Maydeu-Olivares requested proposals for hosting future meetings. Individuals interested in hosting should contact a member of the Board of Trustees.

Albert announced the new President Elect, Terry Ackerman. He thanked Hua-Hua Chang for his service as Past President and presented him with a plaque. He then presented each of the Past Presidents in attendance with a plaque commemorating their service. Additional plaques will be sent to all past presidents.

Meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m. CT.