## Pi Sigma Alpha Award Winners, 2007

Di Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society, proudly announces the following award winners for 2007.

## **Student Award Winners**

### **Best Undergraduate Honors Theses**

#### FIRST PLACE

"From Contention to Cooperation: Influences on Party Strategy in Northern Ireland from 1992-2007"

K. Casey Dunning, Emory University, Alpha Epsilon Chapter

### FIRST PLACE

"To Lie or Not to Lie, It Depends on the Question: Understanding Vote Over-reporting in Surveys"

Diana Watral, Georgetown University, Delta Eta Chapter

#### **RUNNER-UP**

"Unnoticed, Underfinanced, and Underreported Humanitarian Crises: The Gap in Foreign Aid Decision Making"

Jeneca A. Parker, Furman University, Upsilon Beta Chapter

# Howard Penniman/Pi Sigma Alpha Scholarships

Howard Penniman/Pi Sigma Alpha Scholarships for Graduate Study in Political Science were awarded to three members entering graduate programs in the fall of 2007:

Jordan Mosiah Bradley, Xi Chi Chapter, Boise State University **Jessica Lynne Guiney**, Alpha Delta Kappa Chapter, Fitchburg State University

Jaime Elizabeth Settle, Beta Xi Chapter, University of Richmond

## **Best Undergraduate Class Papers**

#### FIRST PLACE

"Public Support for Environmental Protection: Financial Sacrifices vs. Active Support"

Sarah Arpin, Creighton University, Theta Alpha Chapter

#### **RUNNER-UP**

"Beyond the Shouting Match: Bilingual Education in Massachusetts and American National Identity"

Michael Swigert, Tufts University, Rho Omicron Chapter

#### **RUNNER-UP**

"State Independence, Leadership Stability, and the Severity of Ethnic Conflict"

**Petra Hendrickson**, Indiana State University, Kappa Kappa Chapter

## Washington Internship Scholarships

Washington Intern Scholarships were awarded tor three Pi Sigma Alpha members spending the summer or fall semesters in a Washington internship program:

**Hollie R. Blake**, Mu Pi Chapter, Winthrop University **Erica L. Smith**, lota Eta Chapter, Arkansas State University (TWC joint award)

**Jonathan I. P. Yaseem**, Theta Pi Chapter, Northern Arizona University

## **Best Chapter Awards**

Schools with under 6,000 enrollment: Theta Alpha Chapter, Creighton University. Chi Epsilon Chapter, Mercyhurst College. Pi lota Chapter, Ohio Northern University. Omicron Alpha Chapter, St. Olaf College. Zeta Upsilon Chapter, Union College.

Schools with 6,000–15,000 enrollment: lota Mu Chapter, University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Alpha Epsilon Chapter, Emory University. Upsilon Omicron Chapter, Fort Hays State University. Alpha Phi Chapter, Idaho State University. Zeta Phi Chapter, Murray State University.

Schools with over 15,000 enrollment:
Epsilon Chapter, University of California at Los Angeles.
Eta Eta Chapter, New Mexico State University.
Delta Omega Chapter, Purdue University.
Zeta Pi Chapter, University of South Florida. Epsilon Epsilon Chapter, University of Texas at El Paso.

#### **Best Chapter Advisors**

For Chapter Advisors who have served with distinction for an exceptionally long time.

#### Gene Garfield

Zeta Phi Chapter, Murray State University, 33 years

#### William Garriott

Xi Zeta Chapter, Centre College of Kentucky, 23 years

#### Wayne Selcher

Theta Sigma Chapter, Elizabethtown College, 29 years

#### James S. Todd

Delta lota Chapter, University of Arizona, 21 years

#### James Wunsch

Theta Alpha Chapter, Creighton University, 33 years