

IRISH JOURNAL OF
PSYCHOLOGICAL MEDICINE

The John Dunne Medal

In honour of Dr John Dunne, first Psychiatry Professor in Ireland and President (1955) of the Royal Medico-Psychological Association

Sponsored by Liley

THE JOHN DUNNE MEDAL was established to symbolise excellence and originality in the field of psychiatric research. Awarded annually, this prestigious prize is open to all trainees from Ireland, Northern Ireland and Britain. To be eligible, a trainee must have made a significant contribution (though not necessarily as first author) to an original paper published by the Journal over the year.

We would like to wish continued success to our previous winners. We welcome submissions from trainees who have made a contribution to the field of psychiatric research through original papers. The winner is judged by an international panel. The John Dunne Medal was sculpted in bronze by Robin Buick, ARHA, and has been exhibited by the Royal Hibernian Academy. John Dunne Medal winners to date are:

2009 - Dr Katherine Curtin, Senior Registrar, Central Mental Hospital, Dundrum, Dublin

2008 - Dr Caragh Behan, Clinical fellow, DETECT Early Intervention Centre for Psychosis, Dublin

2007 - Dr Finian O'Brien, Research Fellow in Neuropsychiatry, Beaumont Hospital, Dublin

2006 - Dr Dearbhla Duffy, Research Fellow, Mental Health Service, Central Mental Hospital, Dundrum

2005 – Dr Adrian M Winrow, Specialist registrar in Psychiatry of Old Age, Dewsbury & District Hospital, West Yorkshire

2004 – Dr Fiona Crotty, Senior registrar, Dept of Old Age Psychiatry, The Mater Hospital, Dublin

2003 - Dr Steve MacGillivray, Research fellow and Lecturer in Mental Health, University of Dundee, Scotland

2002 - Dr Conor O'Neill, Research fellow at the Central Mental Hospital, Dundrum, Ireland

2001 - Dr Jo Rowley, Specialist registrar in Liaison Psychiatry, Belfast City Hospital

2000 – Dr Mary Cosgrave, Consultant in Old Age Psychiatry, Cavan/Monaghan General Hospital

1999 - Dr Niall Gormley, Clinical lecturer in Psychiatry, Section of Old Age Psychiatry, Institute of Psychiatry, London

1998 - Dr Aideen Freyne, Senior registrar, Dept of Psychiatry of Old Age, St Vincent's Hospital, Elm Park, Dublin

1997 – Dr Michael Kirby, Research registrar, Mercer's Institute/St James's Hospital, Dublin

1996 – Dr Paul H McCrea, Senior registrar, Arkeen Centre, Derry

1995 - Dr Darra Phelan, Senior registrar, Lakeview Unit, Naas General Hospital

1994 - Dr Makie A Ferrari, Registrar, St Stephen's Hospital, Cork

1993 – Dr Bernadette Murphy, Research registrar, St Loman's Hospital, Dublin

1992 – Dr Pat Manley, Research registrar, Mercer's Institute/St James's Hospital, Dublin