22. Application of the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide (Croatia v. Yugoslavia).

Croatia instituted proceedings against Yugoslavia on 2 July 1999, alleging violations of the 1949 Genocide Convention and seeking reparations. In an order of 14 September 1999⁶¹ the following time limits were set for the submission of written pleadings: Croatia, memorial, 14 March 2000; Yugoslavia, counter-memorial, 14 September 2000. In an order of 10 March 2000⁶² these were extended to: Croatia, memorial, 14 September 2000, Yugoslavia, counter-memorial, 14 September 2001.

23. Aerial Incident of 10 August 1999 (Pakistan v. India).

Pakistan instituted proceedings against India on 21 September 1999 in respect of a dispute concerning the destruction of a Pakistani aircraft. On 2 November 1999 India raised preliminary objections to the jurisdiction of the Court and in an order of 19 November 1999 the following time limits were set for the submission of written pleadings on the question of jurisdiction: Pakistan, memorial, 10 January 2000; India, counter-memorial, 28 February, 2000. Public hearings were held from 3-6 April 2000 and judgment is expected in autumn 2000.

24. Maritime Delimitation between Nicaragua and Honduras in the Caribbean Sea (Nicaragua v. Honduras).

Nicaragua instituted proceedings against Honduras on 8 December 1999 regarding a dispute concerning the delimitation of maritime zones between them in the Caribbean Sea and requesting that the Court determine the course of a single maritime boundary between their respective areas of territorial sea, continental shelf and exclusive economic zone. In an order of 21 March 2000¹⁵ the following time limits were set for the submission of written pleadings: Nicaragua, memorial, 21 March 2001; Honduras, counter-memorial, 21 March 2002.

III. OTHER DEVELOPMENTS

- 1. In the triennial election of five members to the Court held on 3 November 1999 the UN General Assembly and Security Council re-elected Judges Gilbert Guillaume (France), Raymond Ranjeva (Madagascar), Rosalyn Higgins (United Kingdom), Gonzalo Parra-Aranguren (Venezuela) and elected Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh (Jordan). These terms of offices began on 6 February 2000 and will expire on 5 February 2009.
- 2. On 7 February 2000 Judge Guillaume was elected President and Judge Jiuyong elected Vice-President of the Court. Both will serve a three year term of office.
- 3. On 8 February 2000 the Court determined the membership of its Chamber of Summary Procedure as comprising Judges Guillaume, Jiuyong, Herczegh, Koroma and Parra-Aranguren and of its Chamber for Environmental Matters as comprising Judges Guillaume, Jiuyong, Bedjaoui, Ranjeva, Herczegh, Rezek and Al-Khasawneh.
- 4. On 10 February 2000 Mr Phillipe Couvreur was elected Registrar following the resignation of Mr Valencia-Ospina.
 - 61. I.C.J. Press Communiqué No. 99/41.
 - 62. I.C.J. Rep. 2000, 3.
 - 63. I.C.J. Press Communiqué No. 99/48.
 - 64. I.C.J. Press Communiqué No. 2000/12.
 - 65. I.C.J. Rep. 2000, 6.

5. On 2 March 2000 the UN General Assembly and Security Council elected Mr Thomas Buergenthal (United States of America) to be a member of the Court, filling the vacancy caused by the resignation of Judge Schwebel as of 29 February 2000. This term of office expires on 5 February 2006.