#### Graduate Students Attend Meeting with APSA Assistance

In an effort to assist graduate students wishing to participate in the Annual Meeting, the Association awarded 40 Advanced Student Travel Grants for the 2002 meeting in Boston. The APSA has awarded nearly 300 travel grants since the program began in 1994. The names and affiliations of the 2002 winners follow.

Todd Allee, University of Michigan Merih Anil, CUNY - Graduate Center Richard G. Avramenko, Georgetown University

Tamer Balci, Claremont Grad School
Katharine D. Bedford, Rutgers University
Sarah Bell, Monterey Institute
Michael J. Bosia, Northwestern University
Teresa Burns, Claremont Graduate University
Josh Busby, Georgetown University
Richard Carney, University of California,
San Diego

Jamie L. Carson, Michigan State University Erin Aeran Chung, Northwestern University Erik Engstrom, University of California, San Diego

Rosalind Fielder, University of Vermont Charles J. Finocchiaro, Michigan State University

Jason Gainous, University of Florida
Sara Margaret Gubala, University of South
Carolina

**Heather D. Heckel**, Georgia State University **William Hurst**, University of California, Berkeley

Rebecca J. Johnson, Georgetown University James Alan Kendrick, University of Virginia/Duke University

Mary Lou Killian, Temple University
Stephen Kirk, University of Chicago
Chad Lavin, Penn State University
Adam B. Lawrence, University of Pittsburgh
Timothy Lehmann, Ohio State University
Mary Fran Malone, University of Pittsburgh
Paul Manna, University of Wisconsin,
Madison

Seth Masket, UCLA

**Andrea McAtee**, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Suzanne J. Piotrowski, American University Colin Provost, SUNY - Stony Brook Kirk A. Randazzo, Michigan State University

Jacob R. Straus, University of Florida, Joanne E. Tetlow, Catholic University Heather Turcotte, San Francisco State University

Ben Webster, Georgetown University John E. Whitehead, University Southern California

### International Scholar Travel Grants

Forty-nine senior and graduate student international scholars benefitted from the APSA's international travel grant program this year. Thirty-four grants to scholars representing sixteen countries were awarded for travel expesses or lodging in Boston. All award winners were involved in the 2002 Annual Meeting program. In the grant program's eight years of existence, 200 international scholars have benefitted.

Sixteen international advanced graduate students were awarded travel grants to help defray their costs to attend the 2002 meeting. All awardees presented papers or posters at the meeting and all were advanced graduate students who had begun work on their dissertations.

## International Advanced Graduate Students

**Siddhartha Baviskar**, University of Pittsburgh

Merike Blofield, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Theresa Capelos, SUNY - Stony Brook C.C. Eric Chang, UCLA

Coleman Katharina, Princeton Univesity Claudio A. Fuentes, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Majusha Gupte, Purdue University
Wonik Kim, New York University
So Young Kim, Northwestern University
Hyeok Yong Kwon, Cornell University
Margitta Maetzke, Northwestern University
Nikolay V. Marinov, Stanford University
Kamal Sadiq, University of Chicago
Yasar Sari, University of Virginia
Jungmin Seo, University of Chicago
Muserref Yetim, University of Texas, Austin

#### **International Senior Scholars**

Ugo M. Amoretti, University of Genoa, Italy Ersel Aydinli, Bilkent University, Turkey Pinar Bilgin, Bilkent University, Turkey Sean Carey, University of Essex, UK Sabine Carey, University of Essex, UK Laura Castiglioni, University of Milan, Italy Ayse Betul Celik, Sabanci University, Turkey Jungug Choi, Lund University, Sweden Maura Conway, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

**Devon Curtis**, London School of Economics, UK

**Anne Claude**, University of Kent, Darwin College, UK

Paolo Dardanelli, London School of Economics, UK Torun Dewan, London School of Economics, UK

Carolin Emcke, Der Spiegel, Germany Mila Gasco, International Institute on Governance, Spain

Kikue Hamayotsu, Australian National University, Australia

Yusaku Horiuchi, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Emmanuel Jailly- Brunet, University of Victoria, Canada

Yuri Josanu, International Institute of Management, Moldova

Hae-Won Jun, University of Oxford, UK Rami Khouri, journalist, Jordan

Valentino Larcinese, London School of Economics and Political Science, UK

Patti Tamorn Lenard, Oxford University, UK

**Lahoud Nelly**, Australian National University, Australia

**Brendon O'Connor**, Flinders University, Australia

Sarah Oates, University of Glasgow, Scotland

Babak Rahimi, European University Institute, Italy

**Sushila Ramaswamy**, Jesus and Mary College, India

Clemens Spieb, University of Heidelberg, Germany

**Federico Sturzenegger**, University Torcuato Di Tella, Argentina

Lesley Terris, Tel Aviv University, Israel Jose Juan Torreiro, University of Paris, France

**Sonja Zmerli**, Mannheimer Zentrum, Germany

## Japanese Political Science Association

Kentaro Fukumoto, Gakushuin University Masaru Kohno, Aoyama Gakuin University Naoko Onizuka, Teikyo University

# Political Studies Association (British)

Justin Fisher, Brunel University
Jonathan Hopkin, European Research
Institute

Ingrid Vanbiezen, University of Birmingham

**782** *PS* December 2002