Recognizing Outstanding Contributions to the Profession: The 2007 Frank J. Goodnow Awards

Mentor and leader, **Paula D. McClain** has significantly contributed to the study of multi-racial and multi-ethnic populations in the political science discipline through her service in multiple organizations and dedication to the growth of future members of the profession.

Tirelessly advocating for minority and multi-ethnic populations, she is director of both the Ralph Bunche Summer Institute and the Race, Ethnicity, and Politics Program; co-director of the Center for the Study of Race, Ethnicity, and Gender in the Social Sciences; and chair of the APSA Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession. She secured support for the Ralph Bunche Summer Institute when other support was ending, took over its leadership while at the University of Virginia and brought it with her to Duke. Mentoring budding political science scholars even after their graduation from RBSI, she further illustrates her dedication to the profession.

She also brings this spirit of commitment to the APSA, as illustrated in her countless years of service. She was a member of the Executive Council and served two separate terms on the Administrative Committee, once as vice president. Furthermore, she chaired and co-chaired the Nominating and Annual Meeting Program Committees, and the Harold D. Lasswell Award Committee.

For her service and scholarship, she received the Award in Recognition of Excellence in Scholarship and Service to the Profession from the APSA Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession; the Miriam Mills Award and the Aaron Wildavsky Award for the Best Book in Public Policy, both from the Policy Studies Organization; and the Award for the Best Scholarship on the Subject of Intolerance in North America from the Gustavus Myers Center for the Study of Human Rights in North America.

It is with deep appreciation for her service and dedication to the fields of multiracial and multi-ethnic populations that we present to her the Frank J. Goodnow Award for Distinguished Service. For over three decades, Frank P. Scioli has been the champion of political science at the National Science Foundation. Prior to becoming senior science advisor in the Division of Social and Economic Sciences, he was the political science program director, urban research initiative director, and section head. His dedication to the discipline has enabled hundreds of political science scholars to research original and novel topics.

He worked to ensure the fair distribution of research funds and to vigorously educate diverse audiences and the leadership at the National Science Foundation on the public and scientific benefits of political science research. This has resulted in maintained or increased levels of funding for the discipline, even during times of criticism. In addition, he labored to inform researchers of the opportunities available to them.

His constant efforts to promote the discipline have also had positive effects on graduate education. For over three decades at the NSF, he worked to build the discipline's instructional infrastructure. His stewardship has seen the blossom of such tools as the American National Election Studies, one of the longest running and extensively used data collections on the study of elections, parties, and politics in the world, in addition to the Time-Shared Experiments in the Social Sciences and the Virtual Library.

Not only did he represent the discipline to the NSF, you have also advocated its collaboration with the APSA, such as on the Methodology, Measurement, and Statistics Program and the Ralph Bunche Summer Institute.

For his continued dedication and efforts, he received the Director's Superior Accomplishment Award and the Director's Award of Excellence for outstanding accomplishment in program management, both from the NSF.

It is with deep appreciation for his dedication to political science scholarship and the profession that we present to him- the Frank J. Goodnow Award for Distinguished Service. Mentor, public servant, and teacher, Lee Sigelman has selflessly dedicated himself to political science for over three decades, serving his colleagues and future scholars with his incredible energy and willingness to promote the broader profession and the Association.

His dedication to political science scholarship is reflected in the 16 years he was deputy editor of *Social Science Quarterly* and the six years he was editor of both *American Politics Quarterly* and *American Political Science Review*. He has served on the editorial board of numerous publications, including 25 years on *Administration & Society* and 20-plus years on *American Politics Quarterly*. His thoughtful reviews of the work of colleagues, young political science scholars, and friends contributed to political science scholarship in innumerable ways.

He also dedicated himself to the discipline in other capacities. He externally reviewed the programs of 14 total departments, including Old Dominion, Emory, George Mason, and Vanderbilt. He has been on the APSA Council since 2001, served as program officer at the National Science Foundation, and as president of both the Midwest Political Science Association and the National Capital Area Political Science Association.

He has published approximately 270 peer-reviewed articles and written five books since earning his Ph.D. In addition, his scholarship is of the highest quality and addresses an extensive range of political science issues across various subfields in the profession.

For his scholarship, he received the APSA Urban Politics Section's Best Book in 2002, the George Washington University's Columbian College Distinguished Professor Award beginning in 1999 for a distinguished record of scholarly research or creative endeavor, and the George Washington University's Trachtenberg Prize for Scholarship for distinguished research contributions.

It is with deep appreciation for his dedication to scholarship, research, the Association, and the profession that we present to him the Frank J. Goodnow Award for Distinguished Service.

The Frank J. Goodnow Award

The APSA Council established the Frank J. Goodnow Award in 1996 to honor the contributions of individuals to both the development of the political science profession and the building of the Association. Frank J. Goodnow, the Association's first president, exemplified the public service and volunteerism that this award represents. He was the first of many who voluntarily contributed an extraordinary amount of their time, energy, and attention to building a dynamic learned profession.

Previous recipients are Gabriel A. Almond, Walter Beach, Paul Allen Beck, M. Margaret Conway, Jean Bethke, Elshtain, Eugene Eidenberg, Richard Fenno, F. Chris Garcia, John Garcia, Betty Glad, Doris Graber, Fred Greenstein, Pendleton Herring, Jennifer Hochschild, Malcolm Jewell, Charles O. Jones, Max Kampelman, Gerhard Loewenberg, Thomas Mann, Dale Rogers Marshall, Warren E. Miller, Norman J. Ornstein, Samuel Patterson, Jack W. Peltason, Dianne M. Pinderhughes, Nelson Polsby, Jewel Prestage, Michael B. Preston, Catherine E. Rudder, Kay L. Scholzman, Roberta Sigel, and Frank J. Sorauf.