ASIL ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

APRIL 10, 2014

Outgoing President Donald Francis Donovan opened the meeting at 2:40 p.m. in the Polaris A/B Room of the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C. The agenda was adopted by consensus.

David Stewart, Susan Karamanian, Arthur Rovine, and Peter Trooboff shared remembrances of four deceased members of the Society, respectively, Barry Carter, Chrys Dougherty, Howard M. Holtzmann, and Detlev Vagts. There was a moment of silence.

Members who had reached their 50th year of membership in the Society were recognized as new emeritus members.

Mr. Donovan reported that approximately \$2.5 million had been raised during the 21st Century Campaign, with the expectation of reaching a \$3 million goal by the end of 2014. He emphasized the importance of the campaign in enhancing the Society's educational role, from academic institutions, to the Hill, to the new ASIL website. Mr. Donovan also highlighted efforts to strengthen the Society's collaboration with kindred international law societies in Asia and Europe. He concluded by describing the current ASIL-ILA conference as the "greatest example" of the Society's collaboration with other organizations and institutions.

Benedict Kingsbury, Co-Editor-in-Chief of the *AJIL*, reviewed the reforms that were underway to improve the structure and quality of the *AJIL*. These included a reduction of the editors' terms from five to four years with one extension, and greater assistance to younger authors, including a speed-mentoring program to enable such authors to discuss their writing problems with *AJIL* editors. Professor Kingsbury also identified five themes for special attention in future issues of the *AJIL*: comparative international law, interpretation of treaties and non-treaties, trans-Pacific law, and broad regional commentaries such as "Russia in the World" and "China in the World."

José Alvarez summarized new online initiatives, including *AJIL Unbound*, which would offer analyses of concepts and broad issue areas, beginning with his own "UN Peacekeepers in the Age of Cholera." He also stated that future agoras in the *AJIL* would be open to noneditors and would include some online writing not appearing in print. Discussions continued as to whether some material ordinarily reserved for the sections, "Contemporary Practice in the United States" and "Current Developments" might be put online in a more timely fashion than printed versions allow.

The 2014 Deák Prizes were awarded to Kristina Daugirdas (*AJIL*-related prize) and Samantha Miko (student prize). Rahim Moloo and Ralf Michaels presented the Private International Law Interest Group Prize to Aaron Simowitz. Hadar Harris and Eric Jensen, on behalf of the Lieber Society, presented the following prizes: the Richard Baxter Military Prize to Major Jason S. Deson and the Certificate of Merit to Ian Henderson and Bryan Cavanagh; the Lieber Article Prize to Anna Spain, and the Lieber Book Prize to Russell Buchan.

On behalf of Anne-Marie Slaughter, Chair of the Nominating Committee, Lucinda Low presented the following list of nominees for election of this meeting:

President: Lori Damrosch

Honorary President: Gabrielle Kirk-McDonald

501

Vice Presidents: Gary Born

Anne Joyce Gregory Shaffer Chantal Thomas

Elizabeth Andersen (Executive Director)

Honorary Vice Presidents¹ Lucy F. Reed

David D. Caron Donald F. Donovan

Executive Council Members: Stanimir Alexandrov

Angela Banks
Trey Childress
Sarah Cleveland
Sandra Hodgkinson
Duncan Hollis
Meg Kinnear
Vincent Nmehielle

Counsellors: Daniel Bethlehem

Joan Donoghue Harold Koh Sean Murphy Daniel Price Paul Williams Adrien Wing Nassib Ziadé

It was moved and seconded to elect the full slate as presented, and the motion was carried. Lori Damrosch then assumed the position of President. After thanking members of the Society and accepting her new responsibilities, she expressed her intent to establish more activities engaging the Middle Eastern and North African region, for example in collaboration with regional centers such as in Oman. Gabrielle Kirk-McDonald, as Honorary President, expressed her interest in improving the African-American profile of the Society.

Mr. Donovan then introduced Diane Amman, who demonstrated the first online edition of the Society's new *Benchbook on International Law* (ASIL/org/Benchbook), which is intended as a guide for judges and litigants.

Mr. Donovan closed the meeting with a tribute to Betsy Andersen for her $7\frac{1}{2}$ years of service as the Society's Executive Director. Describing her as a "truly gifted lawyer" and "truly gifted leader," he expressed the "deep, deep gratitude" of the Society. Ms. Andersen thanked Mr. Donovan, expressing her gratitude to the Tillar House community and predicting that she would later look back on her work in the Society as "the professional love of my life."

Respectfully submitted,

James A.R. Nafziger Secretary

The meeting adjourned at 3:55 p.m.

¹ Honorary Vice Presidents are automatically the three previous Presidents under ASIL Constitution Article IV.