**2008** Annual Meeting Program Chair: Greg Lewis, Georgia State University, glewis@gsu.edu

*Newsletter* Editor: Steve Sanders, Mayer Brown Rowe & Maw LLP, stevesan@umich.edu

**Executive Council:** Jerry Thomas, University of Kentucky; Cricket Keating, Ohio State University; Sam Chambers, Swansea University; Ellen Andersen, Indiana University/Purdue University, Indianapolis

The following Organized Section award did not appear in the October 2007 issue of *PS*:

#### Lawrence Longley Award

Given for the best article published in the previous year. Award Committee: R. Kenneth Carty, University of British Columbia; Bonnie M. Meguid, University of Rochester; and Antoine Yoshinaka, University of California, Riverside Co-receipients: Shaun Bowler, Todd Donovan, and Jeffrey A. Karp

Title: "Why Politicians Like Institutions: Self-interest, Values or Ideology?" *Journal of Politics* 68 (2) 434–46.

# **News and Notes**

## **2008 APSA and Organized Section Awards**

Deadlines for nominating recipients of APSA and Organized Section awards are quickly approaching, including the Ralph Bunche, Gladys Kammerer, Woodrow Wilson, and Victoria Schuck Book Awards, due February 15. Organized section book awards are also due February 15, while the dissertation awards are due January 15 and the deadline paper and article awards vary depending on the section. Please visit www.apsanet.org/section\_210.cfm for nomination information.

#### Announcing a New Award for Best Dissertation in the Field of Politics and History

The American Political Science Association's Organized Section on Politics and History is pleased to announce the establishment of a new prize, for the Best Dissertation in the Field of Politics and History. The first such award will be presented at the section's business meeting at the 2008 APSA convention. They welcome nominations of outstanding dissertations from Ph.D.s awarded in either 2006 or 2007. To nominate a dissertation for this award, please send an abstract of the dissertation and a supportive letter from the advisor or other faculty member of the dissertation committee to the section's secretary/treasurer, David Robertson at daverobertson@umsl.edu. The deadline for initial nominations is March 1, 2008. The awards committee (Theda Skocpol (chair, Harvard University), Paul Frymer (University of California, Santa Cruz) and Sheri Berman (Barnard College), will subsequently be in touch with advisors for full copies of dissertations selected from among this initial pool of nominations.

## Announcing the New Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory

The Women and Politics and Foundations of Political Theory sections of the American Political Science Association and the Women's Caucus for Political Science announce the Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory. The award commemorates the scholarly, mentoring, and professional contributions of Susan Moller Okin and Iris Marion Young to the development of the field of feminist political theory. This annual award recognizes the best paper on feminist political theory published in an English language academic journal during the previous calendar year. Papers will be considered by self-nomination or nomination by other individuals. The award carries a cash award of \$600. To be eligible, the article must have been published in 2007. The deadline for submissions is February 15, 2008. To be considered for the award or for more information see: www.apsanet.org/section\_321.cfm.