Recognizing Outstanding Contributions to the Profession: The 2008 Frank J. Goodnow Awards

Paul Sniderman, Stanford University



As a scholar and a mentor in the broadest sense of the term, Paul Sniderman has made valuable contributions to the development of political science and its community. He has endowed the discipline with new tools and provided the guidance to use them in order to craft sound and effective social science research.

From the numerous students he served as a formal mentor to the countless other political scientists whose work and lives he affected, in even the most casual of interactions, the discipline as a whole owes a great debt to him as a guide.

His generosity to the discipline is illustrated through his organization of the Multi-Investigator Studies on Attitude Formation and Change. This project provided dozens of scholars with access to the best available technology for conducting general population experiments. The Multi-Investigator Surveys served as the model for many future projects and ultimately the influence of his work has been felt throughout the community as a whole.

Sniderman's ideas and methods have helped spur advances in American electoral studies and contributed greatly to the field of Canadian Election Studies, as well as sparked new interest in experimental approaches throughout European political science.

His service to the Association includes terms as vice president, a member of the Council, the Centennial Campaign Executive Committee, the Administrative Committee, and the Ad Hoc Committee on Representation in Office. He also served as chair of the Committee on Professional Ethics, Rights, and Freedoms on two separate occasions.

He has published approximately 43 articles, written 10 books, and edited four, all spanning a wealth of topics. For his scholarship he has received numerous awards, among them: the 2003 Ralph J. Bunche Award, the 1998 Gladys M. Kammerer Award, the 1994 Franklin L. Burdette Pi Sigma Alpha Award, the 1992 Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award, and the 1972 E.E. Schattschneider Award. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science

It is with deep appreciation for his dedication to mentoring, scholarship, the Association, and the profession that we present to Paul Sniderman the Frank J. Goodnow Award for Distinguished Service.

Judith H. Stiehm, Florida International University



Leader, advocate, and pioneer, Judith Stiehm has worked unflaggingly to advance the representation of women within the profession. She was an early contributor to the national and comparative study of women's role in political life; indeed she has been instrumental in the development of the subfield of women and politics itself.

As a founder, and later

president, of the Women's Caucus in Political Science and a founder of the Section of Women and Politics within the International Political Science Association, Stiehm took on a myriad of roles to expand new and enhance existing opportunities for women in political science. In recognition of her efforts on behalf of women in the profession she was named a "Mentor of Distinction" by the APSA Women's Caucus in 1996.

Similarly, she has been affiliated with the National Council for Research on Women, and the National Women's Studies Association. She chaired the University of Southern California's Committee of the Status of Women and the Professional Development Committee of the Western Political Science Association, which she subsequently served as president with distinction.

In 1981, Stiehm was part of the American Political Science Association's Task Force on Women and American Government Task Force. Her service to the Association include secretary of the APSA Council and chair of the Franklin L. Burdette Pi Sigma Alpha Award Committee, as well as terms on the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award Committee; the Centennial Campaign Executive Committee; the APSA Council; the Nominating Committee; The Committee on Professional Ethics, Rights, and Freedoms; and the Recruitment and Placement Committee.

She has written six books, edited five, and published 24 book chapters and more than 25 articles. For her scholarship she received the APSA's 1990 Victoria Schuck Award for the best book on women and politics. For her scholarship on the military she was awarded the U.S. Army Outstanding Civilian Service Medal in 1996.

It is with deep appreciation for Judith Stiehm's dedication to scholarship, research, the Association, and the profession that we present to her the Frank J. Goodnow Award for Distinguished Service.

The Frank J. Goodnow Award

The APSA Council established the Frank J. Goodnow Award in 1996 to honor the contributions of individuals to both the development of the political science profession and the building of the Association. Frank J. Goodnow, the Association's first president, exemplified the public service and volunteerism that this award represents. He was the first of many who voluntarily contributed an extraordinary amount of their time, energy, and attention to building a dynamic learned profession.

Previous recipients are Gabriel A. Almond, Walter Beach, Paul Allen Beck, M. Margaret Conway, Jean Bethke, Elshtain, Eugene Eidenberg, Richard Fenno, F. Chris Garcia, John Garcia, Betty Glad, Doris Graber, Fred Greenstein, Pendleton Herring, Jennifer Hochschild, Malcolm Jewell, Charles O. Jones, Max Kampelman, Gerhard Loewenberg, Thomas Mann, Dale Rogers Marshall, Paula D. McClain, Warren E. Miller, Norman J. Ornstein, Samuel Patterson, Jack W. Peltason, Dianne M. Pinderhughes, Nelson Polsby, Jewel Prestage, Michael B. Preston, Catherine E. Rudder, Kay L. Scholzman, Frank P. Scioli, Roberta Sigel, Lee Sigelman, and Frank J. Sorauf.

902 *PS* October 2008