# REPORT OF THE COLLEGE THEOLOGY SOCIETY

## THE FIFTIETH ANNUAL MEETING CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY OF AMERICA WASHINGTON, DC JUNE 3-JUNE 6, 2004

Officers: President: Loretta Devoy; Vice President: Howard Ebert; Past President: William Loewe; Secretary: Jonas Barciauskas; Treasurer: Gerald Vigna.

Board Members: J. Matthew Ashley; Kevin Burke; Walter Conn; Kenneth Homan; Ellen Murray; Ann Riggs; Philip Rossi; Shannon Schrein: Donna Teevan.

 ${\it Executive\ Director\ of\ National\ Conventions:}\ Shannon\ Schrein$ 

Editor of Horizons: Walter Conn

Incoming Board Members: Robert Masson, President elect; Carol Dempsey, Vice President elect; Michael Barnes; Frances Leap.

Chairperson and Editor of Research and Publications: Dennis Doyle Coordinator of Annual Workshop: Peter Beisheim

### I. Business Meeting, June 5, 2004

Reports:

Treasurer: Gerald Vigna

 2003 Income
 \$ 71,767

 2003 Expenses
 \$ 71,773

 Assets (12/31/03)
 \$119,794

Secretary: Jonas Barciauskas

The online voting process seemed to have gone well. Only two recommendations for improvements were received. The CTS online directory is going well and every effort is made to keep up with changing addresses and names.

Membership: 895 of which approximately 49 are new.

Vice President: Howard Ebert

As Chair of the Nominations Committee, the Vice President reported that most aspects of the process went smoothly.

No reports of regional meetings were received.

There were no resolutions.

President: Loretta Devoy

404 HORIZONS

The Constitutions and By Laws of the Society are on the CTS website.

Gerard S. Sloyan has accepted the invitation to receive a special Jubilee Award which will be given at the Banquet.

A letter requesting admission to the *International Network of the Societies of Catholic Theology* has been forwarded to its President, Bradford Hinze, along with a copy of the Constitutions and By Laws of CTS.

A letter from the Board of Directors of the College Theology Society will be sent to Cardinal McCarrick to thank him for his reasoned approach to the present discussion concerning who may be admitted to reception of the Eucharist.

A letter will be crafted to be sent to the Presidents of Catholic Colleges and Universities requesting that there be discussion among Faculty and Students about the issue of using torture.

Several requests from members of the Listserv to the President and to the Listserv Coordinator, Gaile Pohlhaus, have requested that a reminder of the professional purposes of the Listserv be made to subscribers. Dr. Pohlhaus has tried to direct postings which appear to be meant for individuals to the individual. Only one suggested posting has been deemed unsuitable for general posting because of inappropriate content. Should another be received, a committee of three persons will referee a specific message: Drs. Pohlhaus, Devoy, and Masson.

The President and Treasurer have been in conversation about some difficulties with using CSSR for collection of dues and retention of the membership list. Resolution of the issues will be forthcoming.

The Teaching Workshop, ably coordinated for the past few years by Peter Beisheim, will be suspended pending reevaluation. Dr. Beisheim has indicated concern that consistently low attendance may mean that the Workshop may not be the best way to approach the topic of teaching theology. More attention to teaching within each session will be encouraged.

The Board of Directors received a letter from Philip E. Thompson, Secretary/Treasurer of the *National Association of Baptist Professors of Religion*. NABPR extended its congratulations to CTS upon the occasion of the fiftieth jubilee of the annual meetings. The letter contained also an expression of gratitude for the friendship between the two societies and a wish for continued blessings.

Shannon Schrein will complete her fifth year of a five year term in 2005. There was a request to forward the names of possible successors to the Board and/or Dr. Screin as soon as possible. Dr. Schrein expressed her willingness to assist her successor in any way that would be helpful.

CTS Report 405

All nominations for membership on the standing committees were approved.

Nominations Committee: Carol Dempsey (Chair), William Collinge, Sally Kenel.

Research and Publications: Dennis Doyle (Chair), Walter Conn, Anthony Godzieba, Terrence Tilley, Shannon Schrein.

Awards for Scholarship: Michael Barnes (Chair), Ann Riggs, Elena Procario Foley, Phyllis Zagano.

Membership: Jonas Barciauskas, Carol Dempsey.

Resolutions: Carol Dempsey (Chair), William Collinge, Theresa Moser. Financial Planning: Gerald Vigna (Chair), Dennis Doyle, Shannon Schrein.

Annual Meeting: Shannon Schrein (Chair), George Gilmore, Dennis Doyle.

Recently Deceased Members: William Cenkner, Stephen Happel.

#### II. Report of the 2004 Annual Meeting

The fiftieth meeting of the College Theology Society was held concurrently with the meeting of the National Association of Baptist Professors of Religion (NABPR), June 3-6, 2004 at Catholic University of America in Washington, DC. The theme of the convention was "Jubilee: New Horizons in Theology." CTS plenary sessions featured Elizabeth A. Johnson, CSJ, Fordham University, who identified three perspectives, American, global and environmental, which will play a significant role in future theological reflection in "Horizons in Theology: New Voices in a Living Tradition"; Joseph Komonchak, Catholic University of America, who addressed the causes and implications of the collapse of neo-scholasticism for ecclesiology and the need to be mindful of the intimate and intricate connection between the church and the world in "The Future of Theology in the Church;" and Miguel Diaz, Barry University; James A. Donohue, Graduate Theological Union, Mary Ann Hinsdale, Boston College, and Sandra Yokum-Mize, University of Davton, who presented recollections and suggestions for theological education in "New Horizons in Teaching and Learning Theology and Religion."

The convention was preceded by the teaching workshop, which focused on "Teaching the Holocaust: Getting It Right," June 2-3, coordinated by Peter Beisheim. The opening session was presented by Elena Procario-Foley, Iona College, and entitled "Post-Shoah Theology: Bystander, Perpetrator, Healer?" The June 3rd session, "University and Church Relations," was held at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and included a tour of the museum.

406 HORIZONS

There were several notable highlights at the banquet on Saturday evening. One was the Presidential Address by CTS President Loretta Devoy, in which she encouraged the Society to envision a new and bold future. Two, a group picture was taken to commemorate the Society's 50th anniversary. Three, there was the presentation of awards for significant academic achievement: Elizabeth A. Johnson's book *Truly Our Sister: A Theology of Mary in the Communion of Saints* was awarded Book of the Year. Dennis Hamm's "The Tamio Service in Luke-Acts: The Celtic Background Behind Luke's Theology of Worship (Luke 1:5-25; 18:9-14; 24:50-53; Acts 3:1; 10:3, 30)," which appeared in the April 2003 issue of *Catholic Biblical Quarterly*, received the award for Article of the Year. Franklin T.A. Harkins received the CTS Graduate Student Essay Award for "Nuancing Augustine's Hermeneutical Jew: Allegory and Actual Jews in the Bishop's Sermons."

### III. Fifty-first National Convention

The 2005 annual meeting will be held June 2-5 at Spring Hill College in Mobile, Alabama. The theme of the Convention will be *Vatican II, Forty Years Later: Envisioning the Future*. The local Coordinator will be George Gilmore.

No teaching workshop is scheduled for the 2005 meeting.

St. Norbert College

HOWARD J. EBERT