# AWards Avada

## Nominations now being accepted!

Nominations for 2009 APSA Dissertation, Book, and Career Awards are now being accepted. Awards will be presented at the 2009 Annual Meeting in Toronto.

#### DISSERTATION AWARDS

Departments are invited to submit nominations for dissertation prizes. Eligible dissertations are those completed in the past two academic years. Deadline for submission is January 15, 2009. For committee information visit the APSA web site.

**Gabriel A. Almond Award** in the field of comparative politics.

**William Anderson Award** in the field of federalism or intergovernmental relations, state or local politics.

**Edward S. Corwin Award** in the field of public law.

Harold D. Lasswell Award in the field of policy studies. (supported by the Policy Studies Organization and Section on Policy Studies)

Helen Dwight Reid Award in the field of international relations, law and politics. (supported by the Helen Dwight Reid Educational Foundation)

**E. E. Schattschneider Award** in the field of American government.

**Leo Strauss Award** in the field of political philosophy.

**Leonard D. White Award** in the field of public administration. (supported by the University of Chicago)

#### **BOOK AWARDS**

Books published in 2008 may be nominated by publishers or individuals. The deadline for submission of books to an award committee is February 15, 2009. For committee information visit the APSA web site.

**Ralph J. Bunche Award** for the best scholarly work in political science which explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism.

**Gladys M. Kammerer Award** for the best political science publication in the field of U.S. national policy.

**Victoria Schuck Award** for the best book published on women and politics.

### Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award

for the best book published in the United States in the field of government, politics or international affairs.

#### ARTICLE/PAPER AWARDS

#### Franklin L. Burdette/Pi Sigma Alpha Award

for the best paper presented at the previous year's annual meeting

#### Heinz I. Eulau

or the best article published in the American Political Science Review and for the best article published in Perspectives on Politics

#### CAREER AWARDS

Individuals are invited to submit, for consideration, nominations for career awards. These awards are decided by three-member committees appointed by the president. Nominations should be submitted to the APSA office by February 1, 2009.

#### Frank J. Goodnow

to honor service to the community of teachers, researchers, and public servants who daily toil in the many fields of politics.

#### John Gaus Distinguished Award and Lectureship

to honor the recipient's lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration and, more generally, to recognize achievement and encourage scholarship in public administration.

**Hubert H. Humphrey Award** in recognition of notable public service by a political scientist.

#### **Carey McWilliams Award**

to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics.

#### **Charles Merriam Award**

to recognize a person whose published work and career represent a significant contribution to the art of government through the application of social science research

**Benjamin E. Lippincott Award** to recognize a work of exceptional quality by a living political theorist

For more information on award committee members or further details, visit apsanet.org or contact awards@apsanet.org.