The Dent Medal

The Dent Medal, struck in memory of the distinguished scholar and musician Edward J. Dent (1876–1957), has been awarded by the Royal Musical Association annually since 1961 to recipients selected for their outstanding contribution to musicology. A list of candidates is drawn up by the Council of the Association and the Directorium of the International Musicological Society.

The Dent Medal for 2021 is awarded to LAURA TUNBRIDGE.

Laura Tunbridge completed her Ph.D. at Princeton University in 2002 and subsequently held lectureships at the universities of Reading and Manchester. She is currently Professor of Music at the University of Oxford and Henfrey Fellow and Tutor in Music at St Catherine's College.

Tunbridge's research has focused primarily on German repertoires of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. She did much to challenge the reception of Schumann with her first monograph, *Schumann's Late Style* (Cambridge University Press, 2007), and the co-edited collection *Rethinking Schumann* (Oxford University Press, 2011), and has subsequently made a major contribution to the history of song with the monographs *The Song Cycle* (Cambridge University Press, 2010) and *Singing in the Age of Anxiety: Lieder Performance in New York and London between the World Wars* (University Press, 2020) and *Song beyond the Nation: Translation, Transnationalism, Performance* (Oxford University Press, 2021). Her most recent book, *Beethoven: A Life in Nine Pieces* (Viking, 2020), has been warmly received across a broad media spectrum, winning the Best Composer Biography award from Presto Books in 2021.

Tunbridge's work is distinguished by her dedication to the historical specificity and contingency of musical meaning, whether unpicking the way that Schumann's biography shaped the reception of his music, the role of recording technology in communicating the idea of a song cycle or the agency of performers (or radio producers or film-makers) as they engage with and interpret repertoires we think we know. In *The Song Cycle*, this led Tunbridge to challenge musicologists to take seriously as song cycles concept albums by twentieth-century popular artists as disparate as Joni Mitchell and Radiohead alongside earlier classical examples by Schubert and Schumann. *Singing in the Age of Anxiety*, meanwhile, is exemplary in its subtle, productive intertwining of performing and cultural histories.

Tunbridge's scholarly achievements are particularly remarkable given the work she has also undertaken as an administrator and public intellectual. She was editor of the *Journal of the Royal Musical Association* from 2013 until 2018; she was elected to the Directorium of the International Musicological Society in 2017; and she features regularly in the media. The wide-spread success of *Beethoven: A Life in Nine Pieces* has cemented Tunbridge's standing as one of the most significant public musicologists in Britain today. It marks a milestone in a career distinguished by collegiality as well as impressive productivity.

© The Author(s), 2022. Published by Cambridge University Press on behalf of The Royal Musical Association

Previous winners of the Dent Medal have been:

1961	Gilbert Reaney	Great Britain
1962	Solange Corbin	France
1963	Dénes Bartha	Hungary
1964	Pierre Pidoux	Switzerland
1965	Barry S. Brook	USA
1966	F. Alberto Gallo	Italy
1967	William W. Austin	USA
1968	Heinrich Hüschen	West Germany
1969	Willem Elders	Holland
1970	Daniel Heartz	USA
1971	Klaus Wolfgang Niemöller	West Germany
1972	Jozef Robijns	Belgium
1973	Max Lütolf	Switzerland
1974	Andrew McCredie	Australia
1975	Martin Staehelin	West Germany
1976	—	
1977	Reinhard Strohm	Great Britain
1978	Christoph Wolff	USA
1979	Margaret Bent	Great Britain
1980	Craig Wright	USA
1981	Anthony Newcomb	USA
1982	David Fallows	Great Britain
1983	Lorenzo Bianconi	Italy
1984	Iain Fenlon	Great Britain
1985	Curtis A. Price	USA
1986	Silke Leopold	West Germany
1987	Richard F. Taruskin	USA
1988	Jean-Jacques Nattiez	Canada
1989	Paolo Fabbri	Italy
1990	Christopher Page	Great Britain
1991	Roger Parker	Great Britain
1992	Kofi Agawu	Ghana
1993	Carolyn Abbate	USA
1994	Lorenz Welker	Germany
1995	Susan Rankin	Great Britain
1996	Ulrich Konrad	Germany
1997	Philip V. Bohlman	USA
1998	Rob C. Wegman	USA
1999	Gianmario Borio	Italy
2000	Philippe Vendrix	Belgium
2001	Martha Feldman	USĂ
2002	Laurenz Lütteken	Switzerland
2003	John Butt	Great Britain
2004	Daniel Chua	Great Britain
2005	Julian Johnson	Great Britain
2006	Mary Ann Smart	USA
2007	Georgina Born	Great Britain
2008	Anselm Gerhard	Switzerland
2009	W. Dean Sutcliffe	New Zealand
2010	Martin Stokes	Great Britain
2011	Annegret Fauser	USA
2012	Michel Duchesneau	Canada
2012	Elizabeth Eva Leach	Great Britain
2014	Alexander Rehding	USA
	g	

2015 Marina Frolova-Walker	Great Britain
2016 Mark Katz	USA
2017 Alejandro L. Madrid	USA
2018 Inga Mai Groote	Switzerland
2019 Gundula Kreuzer	USA
2020 Eric Drott	USA