New 2008-2009 APSA Officers Elected

Deter Katzenstein, the Walter S. Carpenter, Jr., Professor of International Studies at Cornell University, became the Association's 105th president on August 31 at the close of the APSA Annual Meeting. Dianne Pinderhughes of the Notre Dame University, APSA's outgoing president, symbolically passed the gavel to Katzenstein at the Association's **Business Meeting on August** 30. Joining Katzenstein in guiding the Association are four new officers. Eight new members of the council will be elected in an all-member election during the month of October. Details on the results of the election will be available on the web and in the January issue of PS.

In 2005, Katzenstein was made one of Cornell University's Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellows, in recognition of sustained and distinguished undergraduate teaching. His research and teaching lie at the intersection of the fields of international relations and comparative politics. Katzenstein's work addresses issues of political economy, security, and culture in world politics. His current research interests focus on the politics of civilizational states on questions of public diplomacy, law, religion, and popular culture; the role of anti-imperial sentiments, including anti-Americanism; regionalism in world politics; and German politics. His APSA respon-



APSA President Peter Katzenstein receives the gavel from outgoing president Dianne Pinderhughes.

sibilities include serving as secretary of the Association, as a member of the International Committee, co-chairing, with Mary Fainsod Katzenstein, the 1995 Annual Meeting and Program Committee, and serving on various APSA award committees. Katzenstein is the recipient of the 1974 Helen Dwight Reid Award of the APSA for the best dissertation in international relations, of APSA's 1986 Woodrow Wilson prize for the best book published in the United States on international affairs, and, together with Nobuo Okawara, of the 1993 Masayoshi Ohira Memorial Prize.

A full intellectual biography of President Katzenstein appears on page 895.

Assuming the position of president-elect is Henry E. Brady, the Class of 1941 Monroe Deutsch Professor of Political Science and Public Policy at University of California, Berkeley. He is also faculty director of Berkeley's Survey Research Center and the University of California Data Archive and Technical Assistance (UC DATA) program. Before Berkeley, Brady taught at Boston University, Harvard University, and the University of Chicago. Brady's contributions to APSA include service as vice-president, as treasurer, as a member of the council, as co-chair (with Margaret Weir) of the 2003 Program Committee, and as organizer of panels for the Political Methodology section and the Public Opinion and Voting section. He is past

president and a founding member of the Political Methodology Society.

Other 2008–09 officers include:

Vice Presidents: Stephen D. Krasner, Stanford University; Joanna Vecchiarelli Scott, Eastern Michigan University; and Rogers M. Smith, University of Pennsylvania

Secretary: Leonard Wantchekon, New York University

APSA Council Election Underway

During the Annual Business Meeting on August 30, 2008, APSA executive director Michael Brintnall verified a challenge to the slate of nominees for seats on the APSA Council. An all-member electronic election is being held to determine the eight Council members who will serve on the 2008–09 Council in addition to the officers who were declared elected without contest. The election began on October 1 and will end on November 1, 2008.

Notification to participate in the election was sent via post-card and e-mail on October 1 to all current APSA members as of September 24, 2008. E-mail reminders will be sent throughout the election period.

Candidates for the 2008 Council election follow:

Jonathan Benjamin-Alvarado, University of Nebraska at Omaha Jodi Dean, Hobart and William Smith Colleges Kathleen Hall Jamieson, University of Pennsylvania Rose McDermott, University of California, Santa Barbara Walter R. Mebane, Jr., University of Michigan Maria Victoria Murillo, Columbia University Mark A. Peterson, University of California, Los Angeles Sherri L. Wallace, University of Louisville Franke Wilmer, Montana State University, Bozeman

For more on the APSA 2008 Council election please visit www. apsanet.org/section_462.cfm.