Awards

Nominations now being accepted!

Nominations for 2004 APSA Dissertation, Book, and Career Awards are now being accepted. Awards will be presented at the 2004 Annual Meeting in Chicago.

DISSERTATION AWARDS

Departments are invited to submit nominations for dissertation prizes. Eligible dissertations are those completed in the past two academic years. Deadline for submission is January 14, 2004. For committee information visit the APSA web site.

Gabriel A. Almond Award - in the field of comparative politics.

William Anderson Award - in the field of federalism or intergovernmental relations, state or local politics.

Edward S. Corwin Award - in the field of public law.

Harold D. Lasswell Award - in the field of policy studies. (supported by the Policy Studies Organization and Section on Policy Studies)

Helen Dwight Reid Award - in the field of international relations, law and politics. (supported by the Helen Dwight Reid Educational Foundation)

E.E. Schattschneider Award

- in the field of American government.

Leo Strauss Award - in the field of political philosophy.

Leonard D. White Award - in the field of public administration. (supported by the University of Chicago)

BOOK AWARDS

Books published in 2003 may be nominated by publishers or individuals. The deadline for submission of books to an award committee is February 15, 2004. For committee information visit the APSA web site.

Ralph J. Bunche Award - for the best scholarly work in political science which explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism.

Gladys M. Kammerer Award

- for the best political science publication in the field of U.S. national policy.

Victoria Schuck Award - for the best book published on women and politics.

Woodrow Wilson
Foundation Award - for the
best book published in the United
States in the field of government,
politics or international affairs.

For more information on award committee members or further details, visit APSANet at www.apsanet.org or contact Sean Twombly <twombly@apsanet.org>

CAREER AWARDS

Individuals are invited to submit, for consideration, nominations for career awards. These awards are decided by three-member committees appointed by the president. Nominations should be submitted to the APSA office by February 1, 2004.

John Gaus Distinguished Award and Lectureship - to honor the recipient's lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration and, more generally, to recognize achievement and encourage scholarship in public administration.

Award - in recognition of notable public service by a political scientist.

Carey McWilliams Award to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics.

Ithiel de Sola Pool Award to a scholar selected to explore the implications of research on issues of politics in a global society, evoking the broad

range of scholarship pursued by Ithiel deSola Pool. The recipient delivers the Pool lecture at the annual meeting

852 *PS* October 2003