The Dent Medal

THE Dent Medal, in memory of Edward J. Dent, is awarded by the Royal Musical Association annually to recipients selected for their outstanding contribution to musicology, from a list of candidates drawn up by the Council of the Association and the Directorium of the International Musicological Society.

For 2015 the Dent Medal is awarded to MARINA FROLOVA-WALKER, Professor of Music History at the University of Cambridge, where she is also a Fellow of Clare College.

Professor Frolova-Walker was educated at the Moscow Conservatoire, from which she graduated with a Ph.D. in 1994. Her first full-time academic appointment was at Goldsmiths College, University of London (1997), and was followed by lectureships first at the University of Southampton (1999) and then at the University of Cambridge (2000). She has been the recipient of a number of research grants, including a Leverhulme Trust Major Research Fellowship (2010–13), and in 2014 was elected to a Fellowship of the British Academy.

After early work on the symphonies of Schumann and his influence on Tchaikovsky, her work has been concerned with constructions of Russian nationalism, and includes a landmark article in the *Cambridge Opera Journal* (1997) entitled 'On "Ruslan" and Russianness'. Later studies on opera in Russia include 'National in Form, Socialist in Content' (*Journal of the American Musicological Society*, 1998), 'Grand Opera in Russia: Fragments from an Unwritten History' (*The Cambridge Companion to Grand Opera*, CUP, 2003), 'Russian Opera: Between Modernism and Romanticism' (*The Cambridge Companion to Twentieth-Century Opera*, CUP, 2005), 'The Soviet Opera Project: Ivan Dzerzhinsky vs. *Ivan Susanin*' (*Cambridge Opera Journal*, 2006) and 'Opera and Obsolescence in the Russian Culture Wars' (*Opera Quarterly*, 2009). These are among an impressive collection of articles and chapters that have done much to reorientate prevailing views of the subject.

Alongside her forensic critique of the nature of Russian musical nationalism, Frolova-Walker has also placed socialist realism under the microscope in contributions such as "The Glib, the Bland, and the Corny: An Aesthetic of Socialist Realism" (in *Music and Dictatorship in Europe and Latin America*, ed. Roberto Illiano and Massimiliano Sala, Brepols, 2009). A summation of her views is to be found in the magisterial volume *Russian Music and Nationalism: From Glinka to Stalin* (Yale University Press, 2007), which was succeeded by the trenchant study *Music and Soviet Power*, 1917–32 (with Jonathan Walker; Boydell & Brewer, 2012).

Previous winners of the Dent Medal have been:

1961	Gilbert Reaney	Great Britain
1962	Solange Corbin	France
1963	Dénes Bartha	Hungary
1964	Pierre Pidoux	Switzerland
1965	Barry S. Brook	USA
1966	F. Alberto Gallo	Italy
1967	William W. Austin	USA
1968	Heinrich Hüschen	West Germany

© 2016 The Royal Musical Association

246 THE DENT MEDAL

10/0	Willem Elders	TT 11 1
1969		Holland USA
1970	Daniel Heartz	
1971	Klaus Wolfgang Niemöller	West Germany
1972	Jozef Robijns	Belgium
1973	Max Lütolf	Switzerland
1974	Andrew McCredie	Australia
1975	Martin Staehelin	West Germany
1976	— B. J. J. G. J.	G . D
1977	Reinhard Strohm	Great Britain
1978	Christoph Wolff	USA
1979	Margaret Bent	Great Britain
1980	Craig Wright	USA
1981	Anthony Newcomb	USA
1982	David Fallows	Great Britain
1983	Lorenzo Bianconi	Italy
1984	Iain Fenlon	Great Britain
1985	Curtis A. Price	USA
1986	Silke Leopold	West Germany
1987	Richard F. Taruskin	USA
1988	Jean-Jacques Nattiez	Canada
1989	Paolo Fabbri	Italy
1990	Christopher Page	Great Britain
1991	Roger Parker	Great Britain
1992	Kofi Agawu	Ghana
1993	Carolyn Abbate	USA
1994	Lorenz Welker	Germany
1995	Susan Rankin	Great Britain
1996	Ulrich Konrad	Germany
1997	Philip V. Bohlman	USA
1998	Rob C. Wegman	USA
1999	Gianmario Borio	Italy
2000	Philippe Vendrix	Belgium
2001	Martha Feldman	USA
2002	Laurenz Lütteken	Switzerland
2003	John Butt	Great Britain
2004	Daniel Chua	Great Britain
2005	Julian Johnson	Great Britain
2006	Mary Ann Smart	USA
2007	Georgina Born	Great Britain
2008	Anselm Gerhard	Switzerland
2009	W. Dean Sutcliffe	New Zealand
2010	Martin Stokes	Great Britain
2011	Annegret Fauser	USA
2012	Michel Duchesneau	Canada
2013	Elizabeth Eva Leach	Great Britain
2014		USA
2014	Alexander Rehding	USA