## **Preface**

This volume contains a selection of symposium papers presented at the 25th Biennial Meeting of the Philosophy of Science Association, which took place in Atlanta, Georgia, on November 3–5, 2016. Forty-eight symposium proposals were submitted for consideration, from which the program committee selected 30 for inclusion in the program—leading to more than 120 papers presented in symposia at the meeting. This volume contains 37 of those papers. A previous volume devoted to PSA 2016 contributed papers was published in December 2017. C. Kenneth Waters's presidential address will appear in a future issue of the journal.

Once again, I would like to acknowledge the tremendous contribution of the members of the PSA 2016 program committee:

Marshall Abrams (Alabama)

Evelyn Brister (RIT)

Hasok Chang (Cambridge)

Mazviita Chirimuuta (Pittsburgh)

Carol Cleland (Colorado)

Heather Douglas (Michigan State)

Kenny Easwaran (Texas A&M)

Greg Frost-Arnold (Hobart and

William Smith)

Paul Griffiths (Sydney)

John Carol Cleland

Kenny Easwaran (Texas A&M)

John Carol Cleland

John Carol

Till Grüne-Yanoff (KTH) Valerie Hardcastle (Cincinnati) Joel Katzav (Queensland) Eleanor Knox (KCL)

Tarja Knuuttila (South Carolina) Marc Lange (North Carolina) Sabina Leonelli (Exeter) Peter Lewis (Dartmouth) Juha Saatsi (Leeds) Jan Sprenger (Turin) Katie Steele (ANU) James Tabery (Utah)

Bas van Fraassen (SFSU/Princeton) Marcel Weber (Geneva)

Their work evaluating proposals and papers extended over a 2-year period. I am very grateful for their willingness to share their expertise and good judgment and for their patience and perseverance through the many stages of program committee work.

I would like to thank a number of other people as well. PSA Executive Director Jessica Pfeifer was an invaluable resource to me in my role as program chair, especially in the run up to the meeting. Chris Smeenk and Andrea Woody, the program chairs for the previous two PSA biennial meetings, also provided very helpful advice and encouragement. Sincere thanks to both the previous and current *Philosophy of Science* editorial teams too, especially to managing editors Michelle Pham (this volume) and Sarita Rosenstock (contributed papers volume), for their excellent support throughout the production process.

740 PREFACE

I am also grateful to C. Kenneth Waters and the PSA Governing Board for the opportunity to serve as PSA 2016 program chair and for providing financial support that reduced my teaching load while doing so. It has been a privilege and a pleasure to serve in this role.

Finally, I would like to thank the authors who contributed the excellent papers that make up this volume.

Wendy S. Parker PSA 2016 Program Committee Chair Durham University, UK