APSA Names 2008 Small Research Grant Recipients

APSA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2008 Small Research Grant Program. This year awards averaging \$2,111 went to nine proposals. The Small Research Grant Program supports research in all fields of political science, designed to support the research of political scientists who are not employed at Ph.D.-granting institutions. For more information on the program and application procedures, please visit the APSA web site at www.apsanet.org/section_509.cfm. The 2009 Small Research Grant competition cycle reopens December 1, 2008.

Karen L. Baird, Purchase College, State University of New York "The Power and Production of Silence: The Invisibility of Women of Color in Federal Level HIV/AIDS Policies"

Erik J. Bleich, Middlebury College "Making it Hard to Hate: Limiting Freedom in the Name of Cohesion"

Michele E. Commercio, University of Vermont "Women's Proclivity Toward Islamic Education in Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan"

Annabelle Conroy, University of Central Florida "Explaining Policy Innovation at the Regional Level of Government: Free Health Care Provision in Bolivia"

Renee A. Cramer, Drake University

"Catching Babies and Catching Hell: The Legal and Social Regulation of Midwife-Attended Homebirth in the United States"

Ralph Bunche Summer Institute Names 2008 Class

The American Political Science Association is pleased to announce the class for the 2008 Ralph Bunche Summer Institute. The Institute is in its twenty-second year of operation and will be hosted by Duke University. Twenty outstanding students, representing diverse institutions all over the country, will be participating in this summer's program. They are:

Jeanette C. Bustamante, University of Colorado at Boulder K. Jurée Capers, Winthrop University Andrea E. Cottrell, Northeastern Illinois University Charles Daniels, Bethune Cookman University Shelia D. Daye, North Carolina A & T State University Carolina Ferrerosa, University of Virginia Aisha Fukushima, Whitman College Dishaun Harris, North Carolina A & T State University Oluwatobi Jaiyesimi, Hunter College Christopher Jarmon, Lamar University Emily M. Johnson, Mississippi Valley State University Jimari Lee Jones, University of Georgia Sammone Kidd, Truman State University Sheerah Lee, Montclair State University Yalidy M. Matos, Connecticut College Taneisha N. Means, John Carroll University Chalene Peterson, North Carolina A & T University Zandra Vongail Stovall, Alabama State University Breanca Thomas, University of Oklahoma Robert William Velez, Metropolitan State University

Matthew J. Dickinson, Middlebury College "Presidents and Executive Branch Political Appointments, 1933–2006: Responsive or Neutral Competence?"

Rhonda L. Evans Case, East Carolina University "Assessing Judicialization of Refugee Policy in Australia"

Rebekah Herrick, Oklahoma State University "Factors Affecting State Legislators Perceptions of Constituent Interests"

Alba Hesselroth, Lewis University

"The Role of Policy Ideas and Non-state Actors in Economic Policy Change: A Comparative Analysis of the Impact of Policy Ideas and Non-state Actors in the Bolivian and Peruvian Processes of Market-Oriented Reform"

Rowman and Littlefield Award Winner Named

Renée Van Vechten, University of Redlands, department of government, has been awarded the 2008 Rowman & Littlefield Award for Innovative Teaching in Political Science.

The Rowman and Littlefield Award recognizes political scientists who have developed effective new approaches to teaching in the discipline. The award seeks to honor a wide range of new directions in teaching, not one particular new direction. The winner was chosen from among a large number of deserving nominees whose teaching techniques have moved our pedagogy forward.

Dr. Van Vechten received the award for her work on collaborative simulations. In particular, Van Vechten created and facilitated three simultaneous and interactive simulations in her Congress course and two introduction to American governments courses. Students in the Congress course represented congressional members, while students in the two American government courses played the part of lobbyists and constituents with direct ties to particular Congresspersons.

Additionally, Dr. Van Vechten was a 2008 Teaching and Learning Conference participant in the Teaching Across the Disciplines Track. She presented a research paper entitled "Collaborative Learning in Course Simulation: Congress and American Politics."

The 2008 winner was chosen by a committee that was chaired by L. Sandy Maisel of Colby College and that included: Kimi King, University of Northern Texas (2007 Rowman and Littlefield Award Co-recipient with James Meernik); Kimberly A. Mealy, American Political Science Association; Tony Messina, University of Notre Dame; and Charles Prysby, University of North Carolina at Greensboro. The deadline for nominations for the 2009 award will be in early April 2009. For more information on the deadline and the eligibility requirements, please visit www.apsanet.org or the APSA Teaching and Learning Award site at http://apsanet.org/section_452.cfm.