## ASIL ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

## **APRIL 4, 2013**

Donald Donovan opened the meeting at 3:18 p.m. The agenda was adopted by consensus. Mr. Donovan summarized the principal developments in the Society during the past year, especially the progress of the capital campaign, the new staff members, and the transition in co-editorship of the *Journal*. He also introduced Anna Ascher, who has helped edit the *Journal* for 35 years. He then presented the Francis Deák Prize to Robert Sloane. Prizes were also awarded by the Private International Law Interest Group and the Lieber Society, as follows:

- the Private International Law Prize went to Richard Oppong for his book *Private International Law in Commonwealth Africa*.
- Sandesh Sivakumaran won the Lieber Prize in the book category for The Law of Non-International Armed Conflict.
- Lauren Groth won in the article category for Transforming Accountability: A Proposal for Reconsidering How Human Rights Obligations Are Applied to Private Military Security Firms.
- the Richard R. Baxter Military Prize went to Mike Madden for *Of Wolves and Sheep:* A Purposive Analysis of Perfidy Prohibitions in International Humanitarian Law.
- Jeffrey S. Thurnher won a Certificate of Merit for his essay *No One at the Controls: The Legal Implications of Fully Autonomous Weapon Systems.*

Mr. Donovan then presented the Executive Council's recommendation to amend the ASIL constitution so as to eliminate the restriction of honorary membership to non-nationals.

The proposed amendment of Article III of the constitution was approved by consensus. David Caron conveyed the Report of the 2012–2013 Nominating Committee as follows:

President-Elect: Lori Fisler Damrosch

Honorary President: Rosalyn Higgins

Vice Presidents: Gary Born

Curtis Bradley

Abby Cohen Smutny

Chantal Thomas

Elizabeth Andersen (Executive Director)

Honorary Vice Presidents: José E. Alvarez

David D. Caron Lucy F. Reed

Executive Council: Karen Bravo

Harlan Cohen Andrew Guzman Glenn Hendrix Chimène Keitner Russ LaMotte

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Honorary Vice Presidents are automatically the three previous Presidents under ASIL Constitution Article IV.

Keith Loken Cymie Payne

Counsellors:

Rita Hauser Larry Johnson

Sandra Day O'Connor

Yasuaki Onuma

Greg Shaffer (1-year term to complete term

vacated by Chantal Thomas)

Larry Thompson Ruth Wedgwood Marcia Wiss Bruce Zagaris

It was moved and seconded to elect the slate as presented, and the motion was carried.

Mr. Donovan proposed the following members of the 2013–2014 Nominating Committee: Anne Marie Slaughter (Chair), John Bellinger, Carolyn Lamm, Lucinda Lowe, Makau Mutua, and Allen Weiner.

Mr. Donovan then summarized the need "to take the pulse of the membership" about the governance of the AJIL. He introduced the new co-editors of the AJIL, José Alvarez and Benedict Kingsbury. They summarized suggestions that had been made to them as ex officio members of the Ad Hoc Committee on AJIL Governance: more and perhaps shorter articles; an expanded web presence; closer coordination with the Society's other publications at the web site; reconciliation of the type and quantity of footnotes; and improved references to sources, particularly non-American ones.

Participants responded by emphasizing the need for a broader, more diverse range of views, such as in the European Journal of International Law. They also emphasized the need for greater diversity of authorship, less exclusive membership on the Board of Editors, and reform of the process for electing Board members.

The meeting adjourned at 4:22 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

James A.R. Nafziger Secretary