[768]

PROCEEDINGS AT THE MEETINGS HELD DURING THE SESSION 1954–1955

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

25 October 1954

In the Arts School.

Dr E. C. BATE-SMITH, President, in the Chair.

The following were elected as Officers of the Society for the Session 1954-5:

President:

Dr E. C. BATE-SMITH

Vice-Presidents:

Prof. H. J. Emeléus

Prof. F. G. Young

Prof. F. J. W. Roughton

Treasurer:

Dr M. V. Wilkes

Secretaries:

Dr S. Smith

Dr H. G. Eggleston

Dr A. B. Pippard

Members of the Council who continue:

Mr F. J. Anscombe

Dr F. P. Bowden

Mr W. V. Lewis

Prof. W. R. Hawthorne

Prof. J. D. Boyd

Dr M. F. Perutz

Dr D. H. Wilkinson

Re-nominated ordinary Members of the Council:

Prof. A. R. Todd

Mr E. J. H. Corner

Dr E. N. Willmer

New Member of the Council:

Mr F. Ursell

Fellows and Associates elected were:

Fellows

W. E. Balfour, St Catharine's College

A. M. Peers, King's College

R. P. Bambah, St John's College

D. A. Titchen, Emmanuel College

R. S. Comline, St Catharine's College

Proceedings

ASSOCIATES

N. H. E. Ahlers

W. C. Ahlers, Pembroke College

N. R. Amundson

S. D. Chopra, St John's College

A. I. Bailey

A. H. Compton

W. A. Fowler

J. D. Gómez-Ibánez

G. S. Hartley

V. Heine, Sidney Sussex College

J. Higgins, St John's College

D. C. Jones

A. Kantrowitz

R. T. Leslie

O. K. Mawardi

J. T. Milburn, Trinity College

J. W. Moffat, Trinity College

R. W. Morse

M. Motzo, Newnham College

M. G. Murphy, Magdalene College

A. E. N. Nairn, St John's College

U. Nerlich, King's College

E. R. Niblett, Queens' College

J. S. Rinehart

B. J. Robinson, Trinity College

G. Roman

R. Schlegel

M. D. Van Dyke

W. W. Wood, St John's College

J. M. Ziman, St John's College

The death of the following Fellows of the Society was announced:

Sir W. C. D. Dampier, Trinity College

E. W. Barnes, Trinity College

G. P. Bidder, Trinity College

The resignation of the following Fellows of the Society was announced:

J. W. Findley, Queens' College

A. J. Harding, Clare College

G. Lapage, Selwyn College

Mrs J. S. Rees, Girton College

Sir W. Spens, Corpus Christi College

E. Watchorn, Newnham College

It was announced that the following Fellows were presumed to have resigned:

R. J. Fletcher, Clare College

I. Lowe, Trinity College

I. V. Idelson, Clare College

The Treasurer presented the accounts of the Society for 1952-3.

A lecture on 'Food and the Individual' was delivered by the President, Dr E. C. Bate-Smith.

22 November 1954

In the Mill Lane Lecture Rooms.

Dr E. C. Bate-Smith, President, in the Chair.

Fellows elected were:

R. H. Adrian, Trinity College

B. J. Birch, Trinity College

D. M. Blow, Corpus Christi College

J. H. Blythe, Christ's College

F. H. C. Crick, Gonville and Caius College

J. W. Dungey, Magdalene College

E. A. V. Ebsworth, King's College

J. Goldstone, Trinity College

J. Heading, St Catharine's College

Mrs D. H. Heard, Girton College

C. Hooley, Corpus Christi College

Lady Hoskyns, Newnham College

J. G. Laski, Trinity College

J. A. Leech, King's College

Fellows elected (cont.)

H. C. Longuet-Higgins, Corpus Christi College	A. Salam, St John's College C. M. Segedin, Pembroke College
A. G. Mackie, Christ's College	D. Tabor, Gonville and Caius College
D. Monk, Trinity College D. Morgan, Pembroke College	K. J. Whiteman, Jesus College A. J. Willson, St John's College
J. R. A. Pearson, Trinity College	A. Yoffé, Trinity College

Associates elected were:

R. D. Cherry, St John's College	M. F. Hay
R. R. Fergusson	A. G. McLellan

A lecture on 'Calculating Machines', illustrated by a film and slides, was delivered by Prof. Hartree.

21 January 1955

In the Mill Lane, Lecture Rooms.

Joint meeting of the Society and the Cambridge University Meteorological Society.

No business was transacted.

Dr O. G. Sutton, F.R.S., Director of the Meteorological Office, gave a lecture on 'Weather Forecasting: the New Outlook'.

23 February 1955

Fellows and Associates visited the Department of Zoology. No business was transacted.

7 March 1955

In the Lecture Room, Chemical Laboratory.

Dr E. C. BATE-SMITH, President, in the Chair.

Fellows elected were:

A. I. Bailey, Newnham College S. N. Barua, Fitzwilliam House	N. Blackburn, Trinity College A. J. Knight, Fitzwilliam House
associates elected were:	

J. D. Biggers, St John's College	D. E. Milligan, Pembroke College
J. M. Campbell, Pembroke College	N. J. Parratt
J. Crouchley	P. Hancock, St Catharine's College
F. Fumi	J. R. Philip
J. E. Gordon	A. T. K. Seville
A. Holmes-Siedle, Emmanuel College	Mrs E. L. Tarbet
H. Levine	C. S. C. Tarbet

The President announced the award of the Hopkins Prize for the period 1948-51 to Dr R. A. Lyttleton for his work on the Stability of Rotating Liquid Masses and on the Origin of Comets.

A lecture on 'Haemoglobin and its reactions with oxygen, carbon monoxide and nitric oxide', with demonstrations and slides, was given by Professor F. J. W. Roughton, F.R.S.

25 July 1955

Fellows and Associates of the Society visited the Plastics Division of the Imperial Chemical Industries at Welwyn Garden City. A meeting was held before the visit, Dr S. Smith, *Biological Secretary*, in the Chair.

Fellows elected were:

P. S. Bullen, Fitzwilliam House

J. H. Halton, Jesus College

P. H. Holway, Trinity Hall

H. R. Hulme, Gonville and Caius College

C. St J. A. Nash-Williams, Trinity Hall

W. H. Reid, Trinity College S. J. Taylor, Peterhouse

G. H. Toulmin, Pembroke College

Towers, B., Jesus College

D. J. C. Yates, St Catharine's College

Associates elected were:

D. R. Ashworth

A. Charlesby

J. W. Holmes

C. D. Parsons, King's College

L. V. Wheeler