THE ELECTION OF HONORARY FELLOWS OF THE INSTITUTE OF ACTUARIES

Following an alteration to the Bye-Laws of the Institute of Actuaries, the Council of the Institute is now enabled to "recommend for election as an Honorary Fellow a person who, on account either of his position or of his eminence in science and his experience in matters relative to the profession of actuary, appears to be able to render assistance in promoting the objects of the Institute and who is not professionally engaged in practice as an actuary."

The following individuals were nominated as Honorary Fellows of the Institute of Actuaries at the Annual General Meeting on 28 June 1999, and were elected as such at the Sessional Meeting on 25 October 1999:

Professor Roy Anderson, University of Oxford Sir Bryan Carsberg, International Accounting Standards Committee Professor Christopher Chapman, University of Southampton Professor Sir Richard Doll, University of Oxford Professor Peter Donnelly, University of Oxford Professor Geoffrey Grimmett, University of Cambridge Professor David Hand, University of London Mr Subramaniam Iyer, formerly International Labour Office Sir Alan Langlands, National Health Service Mr Michael Nichols, Nichols Group Professor Ragnar Norberg, University of London Sir Michael Ogden Professor Tony Ridley, University of London Professor Howell Tong, University of London Professor Sir David Tweedie, Accounting Standards Board Dr Richard Verrall, City University Professor Henry Wynn, University of Warwick

The full list of citations will appear in a later part of B.A.J.